Prioritizing Time in the Word Together

Originally posted on the Prayers for Girls blog, which can be found here.

I love clocks. Really, I have one in every room and am kinda obsessed with knowing what time it is.

​We live and we die by time, and we must not commit the sin of turning our back on time. — Tom Hanks, Castaway

Okay, that’s probably quite a bit more intense than I actually am, but I share it to illustrate just how much being on time is important to me. I abhor being late, and wasting time? Well, I think it’s necessary sometimes, and I can be REALLY good at it, but that doesn’t mean I’ve embraced it without major guilt.

We have a morning routine to get me and my two girls out the door and on the way to school so we’re there by 7:30. We technically have until 7:40 a.m. before the bell rings, but I’m so much about being early, I don’t even know when the last tardy bell actually is. However, as most mothers know, having kids means all kinds of unexpectedness and crazy behavior so to many things, we’re often late. But NEVER LATE TO SCHOOL.

The final part of our morning routine is reading from a devotional geared towards elementary-aged girls. It’s a great tool for guiding our prayers to be more effective and concentrating on what a girl like my Naomi needs. We’ve had many quick morning conversations that get us thinking and praying in the right direction.

Recently we had a crazy morning …

My three-year-old was out of sorts. I burned the waffles at breakfast and had to make more. Naomi was huffy because things weren’t going smoothly.

We were officially behind not because of those things though, but because I’d pressed the snooze button WAY too many times.

Which was, of course, why my three-year-old Noelle was moody—I was rushing.

Probably why I burned the waffles—rushing and not paying attention.

Definitely why Naomi had angst—rushing.

Looking at the clock, I realized we had about three minutes before we needed to leave and I was still wrestling clothes on my octopus {I mean, three-year-old}. Naomi came in and said, “Well, are we going to brush teeth or read our book?” Never being one to let bad breath leave the house, I called out, “Brush, hurry!!” She did, but while pulling on her shoes, she said, “I guess we don’t have time for our devotional.”

My mind was spinning with excuses.We could read our devotion in the afternoon after school or that night before bed. We could read it the next day and double up. Missing one day, I mean, that’s not the end of the world, we’ve missed other days, it’s FINE.

But the Spirit whispered as it does, and nudged me to ignore the clock, and read the our kid devotional. And what word awaited me?

We can’t afford to waste a minute… Get out of bed and get dressed! Don’t loiter and linger, waiting until the very last minute. Dress yourselves in Christ, and be up and about! — Romans 13:13-14 MSG

The devotion covered not just the dangers of procrastination but also of loving sleep and laziness a bit too much. Those cute vegetable characters were speaking right to me.

“Mommy,” Naomi said, “maybe next time you should get up when the alarm first goes off.”

Yep, she busted me.

But in the best way. She used Scripture to address my lack of timeliness that morning.

We still got to school before the tardy bell (barely), but weren’t as early as usual so traffic was a little heavier while I did my errands after school drop off. But that really didn’t matter. We both learned a good lesson that morning. And it made my heart soar that my daughter was able to connect with me through the Word, something I’d always been hoping and praying for.

I love this month’s Prayers for Girls theme of praying the word with our girls! {Are you getting yours? If not, subscribe today!!} Two of the ways I’m connecting with my daughters through the Word are reading a devotion every morning and working on the memory verses they get each week in Sunday School.

What ways are you and your girls are getting in the word?

On the busiest mornings, prioritizing time in the Word together can make everyone feel less rushed. #prayersforgirlsCLICK TO TWEET

A Prayer for Connecting

Dear God, we are so very thankful for Scripture and how you speak right into the details of our lives through it. Help us to be more open and diligent with your Word, so our girls will be too. Helps us to connect with our girls as we build each other up. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About ladygoat

Fayelle Ewuakye is a follower of Christ, a wife, mom to 2 girls (7 and 3), a severe autumn/Christmas maniac, a lover of all things sparkly, Georgia resident, and a silliness guru. All she has right now is her phone. Be kind. Find her on Twitter too @Ladygoat or Instagram @Fayelle123! You can also find her monthly at the Prayers For Girls blog! (http://prayersforgirls.com/blog/)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

