That Easy Kind of Talk (book review)

When I started Counting Grains of Sand, I got a little wary. This lovely author had so much grief, so many seemingly unanswered prayers that I could not identify with. Maybe I’d made a mistake in agreeing to read and review this book. But I decided to keep going because I had another book by her that I loved.

I was not disappointed. I was riveted. And not just by her journey to children, but her journey to some of the depths of God. She speaks like an old friend sitting on your couch with a cup of coffee, spilling out the bits of her pain. I flew through this book, marveling at God’s answers, his restoration, his miracles. I cried with her, I laughed with her, I was in awe of God with her.

As I witnessed this journey unfold, I realized that I could relate so well to everything she was saying. Yes, my circumstances were so different but I’d definitely been in the midst of pain, wondering where God was, wondering if it was time to throw away my dreams. 

 But I also realized just how much unbelief was in my heart. How many times did I feel far from God because I was in pain? This book, Counting Grains of Sand, helped me see what was going on in the depths of my own heart. It was like an impromptu best friends weekend. One where, in hearing my dear friend’s shattered heart, I learned more about the state of my own. How God isn’t far, He hasn’t called me to let go of my dreams, He can restore anything. 

Perhaps you’re wondering if God keeps His promises, if He cares about your big dreams, if He can be counted on. I’d highly recommend this to anyone who has had their life (or the life of someone they love) unraveled due to some form of loss or unrealized dream.

Available as a paperback or ebook from Amazon here!

About ladygoat

Fayelle Ewuakye is a follower of Christ, a wife, mom to 2 girls (7 and 3), a severe autumn/Christmas maniac, a lover of all things sparkly, Georgia resident, and a silliness guru. All she has right now is her phone. Be kind. Find her on Twitter too @Ladygoat or Instagram @Fayelle123! You can also find her monthly at the Prayers For Girls blog! (http://prayersforgirls.com/blog/)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That Easy Kind of Talk (book review)

  1. ladygoat says:

    I think what I like most is it really is like a conversation in my house without being interrupted. And yet so profound and like, wow moments. I think you would really delight in the connection that gets created (it’s weird, I don’t KNOW her, but it’s wonderful) when reading this.

  2. Sarah White says:

    I hadn’t heard of this author before and I’m fairly picky about the Christian books I choose, but…this sounds like something I should read.

Leave a Reply

