At first I was afraid, I was petrified.

​The notion of having a one word for the year seems to be getting more popular, and it’s very interesting to read what others are picking and why. Last year my word was “fearless” and man, that stretched me in all good ways. I learned there were many more fears in me than I was even aware of (and some I was getting really good at labeling ” being cautious and wise” when in fact, it was just plain ole fear). It was a little scary at first, but nothing compared to this year’s. Interestingly, as soon as I started thinking and praying about this year’s word, it was very clear what it should be.

Community. 

Yeah I neededed a big coffee and a maniac face after that word hit me. Community. 

And that includes specifically my neighborhood – people I so rarely see and really don’t know. And that includes specifically the people I see regularly – like retail staff and car mechanics and librarians and oh man, those challenging employees I really don’t enjoy interacting with but won’t name here (some people came to your mind too).

And I’m not gonna lie, I tried to change my AND God’s mind.

As a huge introvert and Highly Sensitive Person (yes, it’s an actual thing), the last thing I wanted was a whole year’s focus being on people I am not already friends with or related to. And not just any people, but those people outside my house. The horror! I’m already overwhelmed and may need to lie down.

But last year’s word helped me see how much fear there is in the world, and fear just doesn’t magically appear out of thin air (even if it seems so), but is the direct product of hurts. And oh my word, there are more hurts in all of us than many of us realize. Some big, some small, all making an impact on our fear/anxiety level.

So… what? Who’s gonna help these hurts? Well, it’s not gonna be political leaders, it not going to be those yelling on social media*, it isn’t even solely going to be church leaders (they can’t do it all). People like me, with the dramatic todder with chocolate perpetually on her face. People like me, with a car that has a few parts being held together with duct tape. People like me that are tired, busy, and would just rather curl up under a blanket with a good book.

I have been the person thinking, “I wish someone would call**, write, drop me a line, just something to show they care.” There are so many of us out there wishing the same thing. So yes, it will push me out of my comfort zone, but it seems a small price to pay to show love to all these people that are near me and made in the image of God. Because sometimes people just need a smile, a quick note, a hug, a listening ear, a muffin.

Hey, I have all of those.

Do you have a word for the year you’d like to tell me about? If not, would you consider thinking and praying about one? You can find more info anywhere by searching “one word for the year” or going to OneWord365 or searching #oneword365 on Instagram. You’ll be inspired and let me tell you, you pick a word? You’ll be changed. If you need help picking a word, let me know in your comment and I’ll email you some tips to get you started! 2017 can be amazing!

*I am all about some social media. It has positively changed so many things about my life but I’m not ignorant to its potential problems. So, while sharing and reading things on Facebook etc., is great, it’s not a stopping point. Most of us need more. 

** If you know me at all, you saw “call” and instantly replaced it with “text” because I don’t talk on the phone if I can help it. I mean, just go ahead and delete that feature from my phone, thanks.

About ladygoat

Fayelle Ewuakye is a follower of Christ, a wife, mom to 2 girls (7 and 3), a severe autumn/Christmas maniac, a lover of all things sparkly, Georgia resident, and a silliness guru. All she has right now is her phone. Be kind. Find her on Twitter too @Ladygoat or Instagram @Fayelle123! You can also find her monthly at the Prayers For Girls blog! (http://prayersforgirls.com/blog/)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to At first I was afraid, I was petrified.

  1. ladygoat says:

    Thanks for sharing your fears and anxieties here… I totally get it. I know more than 1 person who decided to prep for a word – a year of just having it in their mind that NEXT year they were going to pick something, and they’d pray small prayers whenever they thought about it. They knew they wanted to participate even if it wasn’t just then. And God worked in amazing ways. Sometimes no word is best. I am on very familiar terms with survival mode, friend, and it’s a real and very not pleasant or easy place to be in. I find myself there often.

    Praying for you, friend. Life can be all kinds of tumultuous. *hugs*

  2. Sarah W. says:

    As a fellow introvert, I really admire this–and feel a twinge of anxiety just thinking about it! I also think it’s neat how God set you up for this challenge through teaching you about fearlessness.

    I don’t think I’m going to pick a word or anything like that. Even positive challenges and projects feel too overwhelming after the month I’ve just had. Even before the difficult few weeks with Kevin working crazy hours and then losing his dad, I felt like I spent 2016 stuck in survival mode, and the current challenge is to claw my way out of it. But the truth is I can’t–at least not in my own strength. I’m scared of setting myself up for failure before I’ve even begun. I know I need to trust Christ to be glorified in my weakness, but I’m not even sure what that’s supposed to look like on a daily basis.

    So yeah…I’d love to reach outward more instead of being consumed with just getting through the next thing and the next, but I really don’t know how right now. :\

  3. ladygoat says:

    Yay, thanks for reading!! And yes, do it! It’s not as overwhelming as it may seem… it just can be something that sits in your brain and helps influence your day. I’ve done it for 4 years now and never regretted it! You may be surprised how easily it is to live out your word.

  4. bluiidmommy says:

    I loved reading this and I’ve contemplated doing this. Of course, as soon as I typed this, several words popped into my head. I may do this after all.

Leave a Reply

