French Toast Meatballs… (book review too!)

Haha, you thought I’d made some heinous sweet bread meatball, didn’t you?

Wait, with the right quantities, I’m imagining something along the lines of a barbecue meatball with a maple syrup quality…

Anywho, I have a recipe to share AND a book review! First up:

image

image

French Toast Casserole

(my mom calls it bread pudding. It is kinda that too)

* 3/4 loaf of your favorite bread, cut into cubes
* 1/2 stick butter, melted
* 3 eggs
* 3 cups of your favorite milk
* 1 tsp vanilla
* 1 tsp nutmeg (more or less to taste)
* Cinnamon sugar mix (1 tbsp cinnamon per 1/2 cup of sugar, well shaken in separate container)
* Any fave add ins: nuts, dried fruit, etc

-Preheat oven to 350*
-Grease 8 x 8 baking dish (or pie plate)
-In large bowl, drizzle melted butter over bread cubes, toss to coat. If desired, add raisins, nuts, etc. Sprinkle a few shakes (2+ tbsp) of cinnamon sugar and toss again. Place in baking dish.
-Using same bowl (no need to rinse), whisk eggs, milk, vanilla, nutmeg together.
-Pour over bread and smush down so all bread is soggy
-Bake uncovered for 50-55 mins til cooked through

Eat plain or drizzle with syrup or honey, fresh fruit or even some good vanilla bean ice cream! Enjoy!

Book review time!

image

Global Meatballs

This book is FANTASTIC. Not only have I made some amazing meatballs, it’s been easy. This cookbook does what many don’t. First of all, it gives a picture of what different sizes actually look like. I am terrible with measurements, so a 1 inch ball? Lemme go get my ruler? Nope, not anymore, because I can just look at that page for comparison.

Another beautiful feature – substitutions. As much as I wanna cook with ostrich meat, it’s $30 a pound here, so it’s nice knowing I’ll achieve a very similar effect with lamb or beef. And there are many spices I can’t get down the road at my local grocery store – so, when applicable, a suitable substitute is given. OR, it is plainly stated when no substitute should be made and also gives insight where to find such ingredients.

Last great feature? Explaining WHY we’re doing what we’re doing. I am not a seasoned chef, there are many details I don’t take into account when cooking, and I easily get confused (doesn’t stop me from loving to cook though). So knowing why I’m putting some meatballs on a rack instead of straight on a sheet is very helps keep me on track. Many “aha” moments that has carried over into my other cooking.

So, for something different, give this beautiful, yummy book a whirl! Available at all the usual places (Amazon, Barnes and Noble, etc…)

I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for my honest opinion and review. No other compensation was given and I was not swayed in anyway. My opinions are my own and completely truthful!


~ Fayelle

About ladygoat

Fayelle Ewuakye is a follower of Christ, a wife, mom to 2 girls (7 and 3), a severe autumn/Christmas maniac, a lover of all things sparkly, Georgia resident, and a silliness guru. All she has right now is her phone. Be kind. Find her on Twitter too @Ladygoat or Instagram @Fayelle123! You can also find her monthly at the Prayers For Girls blog! (http://prayersforgirls.com/blog/)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

