So much more than guacamole

I have started so many posts and deleted them because they weren’t what I really wanted to say.

The post about worms.

The post about spring break.

The post about guacamole.

image

But each one failed to move me to finish. I have had another post brewing but gosh have I been distracted from typing it. I think the devil’s been working overtime in the distraction department. Seriously, the other day, exercise lured me away from this post. What.

But the hardships keep coming and the revelation keeps solidifying (take that, devil!), and I need to share what’s been happening.

*Friends whose kids/parents/spouses are sick – possibly terminally.

*Cancer winning the battle and people leaving us long before we imagined.

*Divorce.

*Foreclosure.

*Loved ones leaving the Church. (Not a specific church)

They’re  everywhere, all the time, these hardships. But the past few weeks, they’ve hit closer to home. I sit/stand/kneel and witness these events and watch how those I love respond. And I take care to really watch how I respond. And then I watched how God responds to my response. It goes a little like this:

Me: “oh God, just heal him, and we’ll give you all the glory! Huge praises, loud shouts to the ends of the earth, parades, confetti-“

God: “Fayelle…”

Me: “…Sigh. Right. Praise you because you’re you, not if you do what we want. Praise you in the midst of this struggle. Praise you when our worst fears come true.”

God: “I love you.”

I do this EVERY time. I am constantly bargaining with God,  He is constantly calling me out on it, I am constantly remembering the truth. Goodness – I get so frustrated with me lately.

But you know… He never shows me frustration. He never walks away in disgust. He always gently, lovingly,  firmly calls me out of my dramatics and back into what I know is true. And when I resolve myself to what He’s doing, He surrounds me in sweet love.

So then…

What if the worst thing happens?

What if the best thing happens?

What if nothing happens?

When will I praise Him?

When will you praise Him?

When is He worthy of praise?

Psalm 145:3 NIV

Great is the Lord and most worthy of praise; his greatness no one can fathom.

Hebrews 13:8 NIV

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.

So if He never changes…

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 NIV

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

All the time.

Hebrews 4:15-16 NIV

For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet he did not sin. Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

Approach Him with confidence and praise for HE KNOWS WHAT IT’S LIKE. He’s no stranger to our grief. No, He will not always answer us with a “yes”. Sometimes “no”, sometimes “wait”, but ALWAYS there is grace to help us in our time of need. No matter how big our need is. Because He loves us SO.

1 Peter 5:7 NLT

Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.

image


~ Fayelle

P.S. (comic relief) – please someone tell me when I was talking about responses, you were thinking, “they don’t know that we know they know we know…”

Nobody? Just me? Okay. Carry on.

About ladygoat

Fayelle Ewuakye is a follower of Christ, a wife, mom to 2 girls (7 and 3), a severe autumn/Christmas maniac, a lover of all things sparkly, Georgia resident, and a silliness guru. All she has right now is her phone. Be kind. Find her on Twitter too @Ladygoat or Instagram @Fayelle123! You can also find her monthly at the Prayers For Girls blog! (http://prayersforgirls.com/blog/)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So much more than guacamole

  1. ladygoat says:

    SO glad it helped!

  2. Carol says:

    Excellent post. I needed to read this, friend.

Leave a Reply

