Borrowed Picture #1000gifts

This blogging thing is both awesome and a little stressful. But it’s a stress I welcome. It sits in the back of my mind, waving its hands and tapping me on the shoulder and bouncing its knee and, basically, annoyingly reminding me of its presence. And while that would usually drive me nuts, I love it bc it forces my creativity to flow. And to be honest, that tap has been down to a drip lately.

image

I love rain most of the time. When it rains for days on end, it can get tiring, but this day I was stopped at a red light and I saw the drops and remembered how much I love the world after a good rain – all clean and fresh and new… and I was reminded of our newness in Christ and I NEEDED that reminder. I forget I am a new creation. I don’t have to live like the old, stupid me. It’s a beautiful thing.

image

3 years ago my mom gave me her bread machine she only used on occasion. She’d lost the instruction manual and, while I knew I could probably find that online, I didn’t, because, well, procrastination and such. (and that sentence sure had a lot of commas) Then, a friend had this book and long story short (too late), I discovered I didn’t need a manual, just a bread machine book! I’m never buying bread again.

side note: I told my discovery to my mom and her reply? “Oh I have SEVERAL bread machine books, I should just let you have mine.” You think??

image
And here you thought I was done discussing bread. NAY, I have just begun. Before dawn, I was reading every recipe, and taking notes, and feeling giddy.

image
Almost 15 months old. CANNOT resist the temptation of opening and closing the refrigerator door. Repeatedly. So, if we end up homeless bc we went bankrupt paying the electric bill, you will know why.

Good news: I’ve taught her to go get her milk or water herself instead of me getting it. Slave labor – I mean, it’s why we have kids, right??

image
“Cook 15 minutes, covered.”

No lid? No problem.

I really amuse myself. THAT’S THE GIFT, FOLKS.

image
So, I overanalyze every tiny little thing because my brain has nothing else to do, apparently, and I’ve never purchased any windchimes bc I’ve been sure they’d bother the neighbors. (Have I actually asked the neighbors? Heck no, what would my brain have left to do if it didn’t wonder and worry about stuff?)

But on a walk the other day in my neighborhood, I saw these. The song was absolutely beautiful. Soft and low. And the string they hung from shows weathering so they’ve been there a while. Their neighbors seem fine. So maybe I could get some too?
image
You hang around here long enough, you’ll get more than your fair share of beautiful sky pictures. Looking up and seeing lovely clouds, light, etc., is a HUGE gift to me. Skies like this remind me of when I lived in Big Sky Country – a place I miss with an ever growing ache.

image

This is on my wall and every day bedore naptime, N2 demands I read it at least 4 times before she’ll fall asleep. I don’t know why. The cool thing is, I was thinking about how this could help with word recognition in the future as well as searing some truth into her little Spirit… and then I started saying, “God is…” and I hope it’s something that becomes part of the foundation of who she is. So now we say both before nap. Gave new life to this little ritual.

image

Last weekend N1 was at her Grandma’s for the weekend and she’d left Merida at home by mistake. She called in tears and I promised I’d take care of her. So I had some fun posing Merida all around the house and taking pics with N1’s phone (my old phone – no service) so she’d have a fun surprise. She LOVED them. She looked at em again and again and talked with Merida about all the fun things she did. I love really good non-material gifts for my kids!


~ Fayelle

About ladygoat

Fayelle Ewuakye is a follower of Christ, a wife, mom to 2 girls (7 and 3), a severe autumn/Christmas maniac, a lover of all things sparkly, Georgia resident, and a silliness guru. All she has right now is her phone. Be kind. Find her on Twitter too @Ladygoat or Instagram @Fayelle123! You can also find her monthly at the Prayers For Girls blog! (http://prayersforgirls.com/blog/)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Borrowed Picture #1000gifts

  1. ladygoat says:

    I’m SO all about the bread but not about all the special ingredients!

    I’m so glad you like my posts! I REALLY enjoy writing them!

  2. Carol says:

    I so enjoy reading your post. Also, I want a bread book now. I should see if I can find one at Goodwill or cheap on Amazon.

    ETA: If you forget to put your e-mail address and name in the boxes, it turns red and yells at you. Ha!

  3. ladygoat says:

    Thank YOU, my dear!

  4. I love enjoying the sky, too. It’s all there was to look at when I was a kid in Texas, but wow, could it be amazing. I also am constantly impressed at the creative and heartwarming things you do with your kids. Neat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

