Startling Graces of God #1000Gifts

14 January 2015

Two things happened today with such startling immediacy that I felt like I was punched in the gut. In a good way. (Not sure how a punch in my soft gut could be good, but that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.)

1. I despise being late. No, that’s not accurate. I abhor, loathe, physically revolt against being late. It literally, physically hurts me when I am. Even when it doesn’t matter at all, I still get extremely worked up and my mind races and my hands sweat and I become Ms. Grumpy Grumperson. Today I had to take my hubby to an appointment and we left the house late and with the traffic I knew was impending, I knew we were gonna be late. And N1 would get to school late. And it wouldn’t negatively affect any of us at all, but I was so irritated. I dropped my husband off, and tried to slow my breathing and calm down, but I was still on edge and nothing was working. It was quiet in the car and I said a quick prayer that the time would not affect me so much, that I wasn’t going to pray to be on time, but that I just wanted peace and acceptance for whatever happened, and not be such a slave to the clock. And it was like a rushing wind inside my body, I literally had to readjust my grip on the steering wheel to keep the car on the road. And it was gone. My care was gone. And I was smiling and enjoying the foggy scenery as we drove and happily listened to my girls in the back chatter. I was so grateful.

image

And against everything that makes sense, not only were we not late, we were EARLY. And I got to hang out with the two cuties while we waited.

image

2. Baby girl was a MESS this evening after taking the husband to work. A terrible, whiny, cranky mess. And I was quickly reaching my threshold for how much more crying and whining I could listen to. I was nearly in tears when we reached the gas station and I asked N1 to pray because I was losing my patience. She prayed a beautiful 5-year old prayer and again, it was like a waterfall poured over me and I nearly gasped and N2 calmed right down immediately and I was buoyed with hope and energy. Just like a snap. And then I did what I always do when I get gas: play peek a boo with two happy girls.

image

I wanna throw in a little something. Not all prayers are answered like this, with this immediacy, so while we should be expectant that God will answer prayer, we should also be even more willing to bend to his answer and his timetable whatever that may be. And when the answer comes, be grateful. He listens, He answers. He gives us what’s best for us. I’m so thankful.


~ Fayelle

About ladygoat

Fayelle Ewuakye is a follower of Christ, a wife, mom to 2 girls (7 and 3), a severe autumn/Christmas maniac, a lover of all things sparkly, Georgia resident, and a silliness guru. All she has right now is her phone. Be kind. Find her on Twitter too @Ladygoat or Instagram @Fayelle123! You can also find her monthly at the Prayers For Girls blog! (http://prayersforgirls.com/blog/)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Startling Graces of God #1000Gifts

  1. ladygoat says:

    Oh you’re sweet! Thanks. To God be all the glory.

  2. ladygoat says:

    I was thinking more about this and wondered what would have happened if I didn’t have God in my life? Would I be a rage-ful person who’s abusive? Would I lose my temper often and take it out on my kids? It’s scary to think of and also makes me SO grateful for the redemptive work of Christ!

  3. I love your approach to the first one. I think that flip in perspective makes all the difference. I could definitely learn a thing or two from you. 🙂

  4. Carol says:

    And these remind me how to be a better mother. I want to give my girls everything and do it as quickly as possible, so how much more does God want to? Then again, there are times that they don’t need something, or maybe they don’t need it now, even if they don’t understand or agree. And again, maybe they don’t get what they want because they don’t ask. If you hadn’t asked for peace, you would have quickly gone from grumpy to angry or at least missed out on the blessing of peace.

Leave a Reply

