Something Below, Beside, Things About Myself I’m Grateful For #1000Gifts

12 January 2015

To be grateful for this is a HUGE challenge. The Orderly Fashioned Me does not like this. AT ALL. It’s like an eye twitch or when you can’t scratch the itch that is down your throat… it’s grating and annoying. It’s also beautiful and fun and satisfying. It’s what’s left after my two fantastic kiddos let loose and really play without limits. And when I remind myself that, I take a picture. And I smile. And I’m truly happy.

image

And then after a while, we clean it up. And I’m pretty grateful for that time too.

I LOVE being crafty. It is important to my soul to create something, preferably with paper and adhesives of some sort. When I was pregnant with N2 two years ago, I made this. It’s at the top of the stairs and it’s a work I’m truly proud of. I’m SO grateful I had the opportunity to sit, night after night, and make something that was beautiful enough to put on a wall. Something that makes me say, “Man, I love my brain!”

image

13 January 2015

I thought a lot about a part of me I could be grateful for and then I took a minute and thought of all my hands do. Holy cow, I couldn’t even make it to the end of the list before running out of time. My hands rarely fail me. They’re STRONG and reliable and sometimes pretty. I really am grateful.

image

If you could look into these “windows”, you’d see a whirlwind of crazy. If you stayed a while, you’d see creativity flowing like water, washing every little thing. You’d see over analyzation stamped on every inage, sound, thought, and sometimes that would be terrible, sometimes fantastic. You’d be almost drowning in insecurity, but held afloat by happiness and true joy. You’d also see the stretching that only God can do and struggling that only I can do. And you’d see indescribable beauty and shocking awful. But with it all, I really am grateful for my brain. I disappoint myself but also make myself proud. I groan in annoyance and dance with happiness. I try and try and try to submit it to God (those are the absolute beautiful parts). My brain can be my worst enemy. But I love it just the same.

image


~ Fayelle

About ladygoat

Fayelle Ewuakye is a follower of Christ, a wife, mom to 2 girls (7 and 3), a severe autumn/Christmas maniac, a lover of all things sparkly, Georgia resident, and a silliness guru. All she has right now is her phone. Be kind. Find her on Twitter too @Ladygoat or Instagram @Fayelle123! You can also find her monthly at the Prayers For Girls blog! (http://prayersforgirls.com/blog/)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Something Below, Beside, Things About Myself I’m Grateful For #1000Gifts

  1. ladygoat says:

    Thanks so much!

  2. Carol says:

    This is probably my favorite post of yours yet. I like what you said about your hands and your brain. And I love that sun!

Leave a Reply

