Held, Passed By, Sat With, #1000Gifts

9 January 2015

I’m relatively new to the world of coffee (2 years of drinking it more than just on road trips). I’ll tell you right now, when I’m holding that warm cup of yumminess, knowing that I’m about to be more clear headed and awake (and nicer too, let’s just be honest), I am always so grateful. And when I run out of coffee… sometimes there are tears.

image


I love to drive. Ever since I had my license, I have always sought out the long way, the scenic way, the new way. Four wheels and me at the helm is my absolute favorite way to travel. That being said, I don’t like traffic. Especially mundane, daily, old news traffic. Today I found a brand new way around traffic  to get my husband from work that led me through some pretty neighborhoods (that will be gorgeous next Christmas!). Not only that, I always feel a small sense of victory when I’m bypassing all the unfortunate people stuck idling for an hour.

image

I have a toddler. For those of you with kids, many of you know that alone time is nearly nonexistent. I mean, you could shut the door but one of three things happens: 1) they stand outside the door, completely betrayed, screaming at the top of their lungs, 2) they pull and bang and scratch at the door, completely betrayed, screaming at the top of their lungs, 3) they find this the perfect opportunity to run amok, touching everything they aren’t supposed to, ripping things and throwing things. My toddler is a fan of all three. So, shut the door? Not if I value my sanity. So, I’m often “sitting” next to this:

image

Also? She gets pretty angry if I don’t put her in the sink. I did it once and created a monster. Every time now. Every time.

But that face… be still my heart.

~Fayelle

P.S. – if your toddler waits patiently and quietly outside the door (like my first kid did when she was a toddler), don’t tell me. I like pretending this is the norm for toddlers these days.

About ladygoat

Fayelle Ewuakye is a follower of Christ, a wife, mom to 2 girls (7 and 3), a severe autumn/Christmas maniac, a lover of all things sparkly, Georgia resident, and a silliness guru. All she has right now is her phone. Be kind. Find her on Twitter too @Ladygoat or Instagram @Fayelle123! You can also find her monthly at the Prayers For Girls blog! (http://prayersforgirls.com/blog/)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Held, Passed By, Sat With, #1000Gifts

  1. Carol says:

    Sounds like a plan!

  2. ladygoat says:

    I bet you make an excellent road trip companion. I’ll drive, you read aloud and find good music. 🙂

  3. Carol says:

    A girl I work with says the saddest part of the day is when the tea/coffee is gone. So true!

    I don’t like driving. I pretend I’m okay with driving, and I do it and don’t panic, but if I never had to drive again, I’d be a happy woman. It stresses me out too much, whether highway or just little back roads.

    Love that happy face in the mirror!!

  4. ladygoat says:

    YES!! If I’m gonna have to go somewhere DAILY, I’d like the prettiest way!

  5. You know I’m all about finding the scenic (more nature/beauty-filled) route to anywhere, but especially on the way to regular, mundane destinations. Just adds that tiny bit of joy that’s so beneficial. My soul demands it. So love this series of posts. They make me smile, and everybody knows that’s healthier than frowning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

