Surprising Reflection, Lovely Shadow, Dusky Light, #1000Gifts

8 January 2015

As I stood talking to Daddy, and trying to remember some important details, I kept getting frustrated with the “Mama” that was repeatedly coming from N2. “Oh my gosh, what??” I couldn’t figure it out what in the world she wanted. She wasn’t pointing, she wasn’t trying to grab anything, and I was already holding her. I asked her if she wanted Daddy and she replied with, “nananananana” which is N2-speak for “No”. Finally Daddy and I got things figured out and I looked down in irritation at her and then looked where she was looking. Yep, there was Mama. There she was with Mama. Sigh.

image


There is a tree in front of one of our living room windows that I just love. When we moved in 3 years ago, it was small and insignificant. I’ve pruned and shaped it every spring and now it covers one window which is GREAT in the summer for keeping some of the blazing sun at bay. My landlord always asks if I want her to cut it back like it was and no, no I don’t. I love the shadows…

image

Last night as the sun was setting, N1 was doing some simple math out loud. She grew quiet and then told me that she doesn’t like telling the other kids at school things like, “300 + 300 = 600” because they already know. And when I suggested she could say it anyway, she said no because they don’t want to hear it. She seemed a little saddened by this and I said, “well, you can always tell me, because I love to hear the math you can do.” Oh my goodness, the smile! I didn’t realize how important it was for her. And I’m SO glad I reaffirmed communication. I try very hard not to stifle her words and to to keep the lines open so they’ll still be open as she grows and has even more important and life-changing things to say. This little chatterbox is so precious.

image

~Fayelle

About ladygoat

Fayelle Ewuakye is a follower of Christ, a wife, mom to 2 girls (7 and 3), a severe autumn/Christmas maniac, a lover of all things sparkly, Georgia resident, and a silliness guru. All she has right now is her phone. Be kind. Find her on Twitter too @Ladygoat or Instagram @Fayelle123! You can also find her monthly at the Prayers For Girls blog! (http://prayersforgirls.com/blog/)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surprising Reflection, Lovely Shadow, Dusky Light, #1000Gifts

  1. ladygoat says:

    Thank you! I always feel SO guilty. But I’m still trying to pay attention before getting irritated. 🙂

  2. Carol says:

    I’ve done that before, been irritated, only to open my eyes and see the precious moment in front of me. That pic of you and N2 is adorable.

    You’re such a good mama to both your girls.

Leave a Reply

