Graces from People You Love #1000Gifts

Wednesday is trash day. I hate the trash. I mean, despise with the passion of a few billion fiery suns, hate. No matter how careful I am about keeping myself on the outside of the bag, I always seem to get some mysterious goo on me and then in my panic I trip and spill the goo all over me or the house or rub my eye and I’m convinced I have salmonella and am going blind. And that leads to frantic disinfecting of every inch of me (you have no clue how hard it was not to disinfect my eye that one time…) and every inch of house I walked from the trash can to the door. And HEAVEN FORBID you come within 3 feet of me while I’m carrying the bag out because you’ll get scrubbed down with some lysol wipes too. Probably more than once.

So, it is a heaping mountain of grace for me that my husband automatically takes out the trash. Even after having worked a grueling night shift in the Emergency Room for 12 hours, he never once shrugs it off or looks my way and says, “hey, weirdo, grow up.” And this man is pretty meticulous. He wears disposable gloves, he wipes down the trash can before putting in the new bag… all while calm and orderly and without fears of flesh-eating bacteria devouring us in our sleep. I heart him so.

image

It’s my understanding that, as a general rule, introverts don’t like talking on the phone. I’m SUCH an introvert. Talking on the phone usually makes me break out in a sweat, is exhausting, and is something I DREAD, no matter how much I love and enjoy the person on the other line. And while society shakes its head in embarrassment of me, I have dear sweet friends far away who don’t demand our relationship be maintained by the use of this torture device. Many text, send facebook messages, and some… some engage in correspondence of the snail mail variety. Even when they’d just rather talk. I really don’t deserve such sweet lovelies.

image
~Fayelle

About ladygoat

Fayelle Ewuakye is a follower of Christ, a wife, mom to 2 girls (7 and 3), a severe autumn/Christmas maniac, a lover of all things sparkly, Georgia resident, and a silliness guru. All she has right now is her phone. Be kind. Find her on Twitter too @Ladygoat or Instagram @Fayelle123! You can also find her monthly at the Prayers For Girls blog! (http://prayersforgirls.com/blog/)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Graces from People You Love #1000Gifts

  1. ladygoat says:

    Samuel us almost TOO thorough. Sometimes he takes the bags out of the little ones even when there’s very little (some are hanging on doorknobs to be out of reach for wee girl, so he takes the whole thing, even when there’s juat one thing). But hey, whatever. As long as I don’t have to take the kitchen trash, I’m golden. 🙂

  2. Love your description of the “torture device” — spot-on for me, too. 🙂 T does the trash for us, too, but he’s more of a minimalist and doesn’t empty all of the little cans around the house unless they’re full, which used to drive me crazy, but since he refuses to change his ways, and I love him and appreciate his doing it, I have chosen to worry about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

