Graces Overheard #1000Gifts

3 January 2015

image

Husband to N2: “Here you go, you can have the rest…”

I’m gonna be completely honest here: I have NEVER seen anyone as selfless and patient as my husband. I sometimes stare at him in awe and wonder why he hasn’t completely thrown up his hands in exasperation and walked out the door (he totally would be well within reason- I can be completely ridiculous and trying… as hard as that may be to believe). But not only does he stay, he’s kind. And determined and committed. No easy task – I am no picnic. And on top of ALL that – he still says he’ll love me forever. He loves me. And he gives tirelessly to our children. God made a real gem in this man and more shocking, He gave him to ME.

image

N1 to N2: “I still love you, even when you hit me.”

Be still my heart. We’ve been talking a lot lately about grace and mercy. About how much we love each other even when they’ve hurt us. About showing the love of God to each other no matter what. About how He forgives us so we should forgive. How He loves us so we should love. How the biggest something we could do for someone else is show them Christ.

She gets it.

That wee one bites, pulls hair, hits, pushes and shoves, screams and cries. She steals toys, my attention, and space. And older N1 loves her. Gets frustrated? Yes. Gets impatient? Yes. Gets fed up? Yes. But that small N2 knows the love is there. She also hugs and kisses and shares and laughs and follows and squeals with delight when her older sister is there.

I can barely contain it all in my heart. “Thankful” only slightly begins to describe my gratitude.

~Fayelle

About ladygoat

Fayelle Ewuakye is a follower of Christ, a wife, mom to 2 girls (7 and 3), a severe autumn/Christmas maniac, a lover of all things sparkly, Georgia resident, and a silliness guru. All she has right now is her phone. Be kind. Find her on Twitter too @Ladygoat or Instagram @Fayelle123! You can also find her monthly at the Prayers For Girls blog! (http://prayersforgirls.com/blog/)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Graces Overheard #1000Gifts

  1. ladygoat says:

    N2’s not too bad… she mostly can’t help that her brain’s on fire all the time. 🙂

    Thanks for reading!

  2. Carol says:

    This was absolutely beautiful to read. I love your husband and that you and he are raising such good, kind kids. Well, kid. N2 will get there. 😉

  3. ladygoat says:

    Amen!!

  4. I am soo with you on the “why the heck is he still here?” feeling RE: the hubs. Mine is the same way – crazy patient, understanding, accepting, & loving. All the time. Even more so in my really rough moments. We are truly blessed.

Leave a Reply

