Outside, Inside, On a Plate #1000Gifts

2 January 2015

Today, while feeling icky, I had to drag two kids to a boring taupe-infested government building for something that should have taken half an hour, tops. Took 90 minutes bc of printer issues. And it was raining and I’d forgotten both the umbrellas. But at the end of it all, I jumped out quickly in the rain bc I noticed the lovely gift of FRONT ROW PARKING. That seems to never happen to me and I’d completely missed how not wet we were bc we’d been steps from the door.

image

I love to read. My dream vacation would include many days in cozy, warm chairs, reading for hours. With hot tea. And cookies. And a lap cat. ANYWAY, naturally, I have books EVERYWHERE in my house. Occasionally I get frustrated with the “clutter” but I’m also grateful for these half-started friendly gifts within arm’s reach.

image


After our boring visit to a boring office was over, a small voice with a tear behind it said, “mommy, I’m hungry… and thirsty.”

Normally we don’t do much fast food. We were 15 minutes from home so she could have waited. But she had been SO patient and cooperative in the land of taupe . And I’d neglected to bring a water bottle or snacks. And this came from a tiny person who has to be reminded to eat. She rarely asks for food. So I immediately counted out my nickels and dimes and got her a snack. And the tiny tear that almost rose up… dissolved away into a smile.

image

~Fayelle

About ladygoat

Fayelle Ewuakye is a follower of Christ, a wife, mom to 2 girls (7 and 3), a severe autumn/Christmas maniac, a lover of all things sparkly, Georgia resident, and a silliness guru. All she has right now is her phone. Be kind. Find her on Twitter too @Ladygoat or Instagram @Fayelle123! You can also find her monthly at the Prayers For Girls blog! (http://prayersforgirls.com/blog/)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Outside, Inside, On a Plate #1000Gifts

  1. ladygoat says:

    I love you too, dear friend!!

  2. Carol says:

    I love you, friend, and I love this tiny moment in your day of boring moments.

Leave a Reply

